Home to a UNESCO World Heritage Site

The Steepest Railways in Asia
February 15, 2018
The Slowest Train in India
February 15, 2018

The Nilgiri Railways is a 

‘UNESCO World Heritage Site’. It was declared in July 2005 as an extension of the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway. It covers a distance of 45 kilometres (26 mi) in 4 hours, 50 minutes and has 208 curves, 16 tunnels and 250 bridges. To preserve the ‘World Heritage Site’ status of the railway it still issues Edmondson style manual tickets for the Ooty-Mettupalayam journey. It was featured in a historical documentary by the BBC in February 2010.

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.